Wildseed Cafe by The Summerhouse @ 3 Park Lane Review: Relaxing Brunch Within a Beautiful Charming Garden

New year, new cafes to hop to!

Following the floral cafe trend in South Korea and Bangkok, I am elated that cafes filled with lovely fresh flowers have finally arrived in sunny Singapore! Located at Seletar Aerospace Park, I was excited to check out what Wildseed Cafe has to offer on a Saturday morning for two hungry girls.

Opened by the people behind The Summerhouse restaurant, this area is reminiscent of restaurants that have occupied the colonial bungalows at Dempsey. My Hong Kong friend commented, “Wow, I haven’t seen this side of Singapore before!”

Well, who said Hong Kong and Singapore are similar?

img_9188img_9189

I drove down here and was delighted that there were ample parking lots.

While we headed towards the cafe, I noticed that it was not very big with less than 5 tables. Nonetheless, I was relieved that there were more seats outside, where patrons could bring their pets over.

Yes I’ve seen dogs being their customers already.

img_9103img_9187img_9186

Wildseed has got the garden ambience just about right with the overhanging pots, ferns and red brick walls. I’ve been to a couple of Florist x Cafe collaboration cafes like Casa Lapin in Bangkok, and I adore them.

There’s something relaxing about staring at plants and the florist constructing her bouquets from scratch.

img_9106img_9177img_9180

And FYI, the flowers and plants here at Poppy Flora aren’t cheap though. One small pot starts from $20, while the bouquets are a lot more than that. I can’t complain though, they really spruced up the space really well.

img_8308img_9184All orders are done at their counter.

I couldn’t make up my mind on what dishes we should have after I came face-to-face with their dessert display. I wanted all of them! That’s when I realise that most had a common denominator – using flowers and herbs to incorporate the “nature” theme in their bakes.

img_9108img_9110img_9114

I was tempted to get their Pea Flower Coconut Muffin [$6.50] until someone ordered their Chocolate Banana Bread [$6.50] and I followed suit. It looked extremely alluring under the spotlight.

Below are the Wildseed Cafe’s menus for All-day Breakfast on weekends (until 5.30pm), and the other – Sandwich menu on normal days. I tried to find them online but they don’t seem to have a website yet. I was apprehensive about the All-day  breakfast as it was $28+ per person and have no idea how big the portions are.

Not your average price for breakfast, for sure.

img_9130img_9119

Thankfully the Sandwich Menu seems to have more reasonably-priced with options  that are below $20. They also provide sharing platters for families or larger groups.

img_9122img_9123img_9124

We couldn’t go past the Drinks Menu. There were quite a wide selection of coffee brewed by Nomad the Gallant Coffee Roasters, juices and cocktails. However, we were notified that not all smoothies were available that day.

img_9127img_9128img_9153

I craved for something healthy to start the day and ordered The Vegano 1.0 Sandwich [$14] with Tomato, Garden herb salad, Eggplant, Nuts & Hummus. It came inside the brown wrapper and when I opened it, it was a burger instead of a sandwich!

How cute.

Taste: 4.5/5

For $14, you definitely get the bang out of your buck. It came with three tasty herbal falafels that were one of the best ones I’ve had. It is packed full of proteins and minced herbs.

I was pleased how the vegetables like the cabbage and cherry tomatoes were fresh, and the nuts adding a wonderful dimension the burger; it would be plain without them. Furthermore, the filling to bun ratio was just right. The top bun had a spread of hummus, while the bottom was lined with tomato sauce and sunflower seeds.

Every bite was bliss.

The bun was also made out of sourdough, one of my favourite breads.img_9165img_9174

The felafels were unforgettable and deep fried till its crisp and golden brown. It also had a few whole chick peas ambushed inside for a texture explosion.

This is my first vegan burger that has left me wanting more and more. I need a Vegano 2.0 and 3.0 after this! Setting healthy goals for the new year.

img_9136img_9144

To accompany our sweet treat, my friend ordered a Pink Potion [$5] fresh pressed juice, while I had a Cappuccino [$5].

Sadly, Pink Potion, which was made from Pink Grapefruit, Apple, Carrot, Lemon and Ginger juice, was extremely sour – even for someone who actually likes sour drinks. It was a mess of flavours that were indistinguishable. I am guessing that the grapefruit and lemon overpowered everything else.

My coffee, on the other hand, was quite smooth and not too milky. Quite a decent cuppa. The cute madeleine at the side was a pleasant surprise too.

img_9140

All these were enjoyed with our Chocolate Banana Cake [$6.50].

Taste: 4/5

The cake is moist, fluffy and delectable at our first few bites. I could taste some raisins inside, but thought that it could have more walnuts, or even chocolate chips for more crunch and a burst of cocoa.

This is perfect for those who do not have a sweet tooth, but craving for something to go with your coffee. It was so delicious that I couldn’t stop digging into it.

img_9181img_9185


BUNNY’S VERDICT: **** out of 5 stars

Great cafe for couples, youngsters and families alike. I can see myself bringing someone of any age here for breakfast and tea.

BUNNY RECOMMENDS: Vegano 1.0 Vegetarian Sandwich, Chocolate Banana Cake, Coffee

DAMAGE: $16+ per person. Service Charge not included.


RATING

Overall Taste:  4/5  Great ambience with great affordable brunch food with unconventional dishes, what’s not to love about this cafe? I can’t wait to return for more sweet and savoury items! I would want to try more of their sandwiches, Honey Lemon Rosemary Tart and Garden Dessert Bowls. I admire chefs who actually dare to experiment with different flavour combinations using fresh produce on hand.

Ambience: 4/5 Everyone is here for its whimsical nature design! Nonetheless, I wish that the al fresco area would be slightly more decorated with more plants and fairy lights for a better dining experience for larger groups.

Service: 4/5 Food and drinks took about 15-20 minutes to be served.The staff were all smiles despite being slightly underhanded and busy on their first few days of operation.   They were eager to serve and tried to answer my questions. However, something was lacking during my visit – tap water. This is usually mandatory in all my cafe hopping visits around Australia and Singapore.


Wildseed Cafe
3 Park Lane
The Summerhouse
Singapore 798387

Opening Hours:
Daily: 10am – 7pm (Tuesday to Friday)
9am – 7pm (Saturday, Sunday)
Closed on Mondays

Directions: 

  • 103 (Serangoon Interchange), 117 (Punggol Interchange)
  • Stop after Rolls Royce Pte Ltd

Love,
The Hungry Bunny
Follow 
@BunnyMunchies on Instagram for more honest reviews!

Leave a comment