Shiberty Bakes [UPDATED] @ 46 Owen Road: Sugar-High on Thick Toasts, ChurroWaffles & Old-school Treats

If you haven’t already known, @Shiberty is a prominent baker slash blogger.

At a young age of 23, the opening of her own cafe under her name in April 2016 was an unexpected move because young bakers rarely do that – unless they are really successful right?

After You Bangkok’s Thick toasts have a special place in my heart and when I learned that Shiberty Bakes serves them in such an alluring manner, I had to come.

Nonetheless, 2 months was how long it took me to make the decision to visit due to the bad publicity created – they served melted ice cream during the first few days of its opening. What a turn-off that would be if it happened to me!

And so, I waited for review to turn positive before visiting. Also had a friend who dined there thrice in  2 months.

It SHOULD be good, right?

IMG_9668IMG_9669

The cafe, however is located at Farrer Park – a secluded neighbourhood to me.

I was lost while navigating my way here and having a standee, or sign outside and a block number listed in Google Maps would benefit them.

IMG_9890

We met here at 3pm for tea on a Saturday, and I was surprised that only two tables were occupied.

Selecting our food was a no-brainer because there’s only two of us who were craving for thick toasts. It was particularly amusing when we unanimously agreed on having the Matcha Shiberty Toast [$16] not long after browsing the menu.

You’re a true matcha lover when you choose Matcha over Rocher Toast; I was a bit torn between the two of them, but thought Rocher may be nothing special because most cafes serve this flavour, or with Nutella.

IMG_9671IMG_9673

The ordering is done at the counter where several cupcakes, cakes and macarons are being displayed.

IMG_9887IMG_9885IMG_9873

Our Matcha Shiberty Toast [$16] with cookies, white chocolate drizzle, green tea & vanilla ice cream arrived after our 20-minute chatter.

IMG_9883IMG_9878

Taste: 3.5./5

This is my 5th thick toast in Singapore and my standards for thick toast is pretty high now. With edges that were crispy and easy to cut through, I’m glad to say that the quality of the toast is better than Dessert Project’s. It was also evenly buttered.

While saying that, it was sad when the middle part of the toast uncontrollably collapsed before even tucking in! This did not ever happen for four thick toast cafes I’ve been to so far.

Maybe the weather was too hot. Hmm…

IMG_9879IMG_9921IMG_9882

Another downside was the artificial taste of the ice creams. Their matcha ice cream was on the sweeter side and the vanilla had a “cheap” taste – “like Wall’s” – commented by my friend.

One more thing that you would either love, or hate was the haphazard sprinkle of sweet treats on the side.

They include Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Cream candy bar, matcha roll wafers,  Pepero white chocolate sticks, matcha Kit Kats, and crushed peanuts.

I liked the fact that each was given in an even number so two of us wouldn’t have to fight for them hehe…

These snacks were definitely an interesting addition that is distinctive from the rest of the thick toasts in the market. The Hershey’s candy bar made me reminisce my primary school days, where I’d buy them in primary school whenever I was peckish after classes were over.

My company, on the other hand, was unfazed by these “junk” and wished that the toast is serve plain with the ice creams alone.

IMG_9925

On another occasion, we came back for the iconic “Churro Waffle [$15].

img_9212

I know, it already sounds larger than life.

It consists of cinnamon sugar, toffee lashings, chocolates, hazelnut & sea salt caramel ice cream. 

Taste: 3.5/5 

img_9311img_9261img_9263

I have to give them credit for trying to be different, but it has a severe lack of cinnamon, which caused the entire dish to be rather bland alone. I joked that I would bring my own cinnamon powder and up the spice game.

Nonetheless, the ice cream quality has leapt by miles because it wasn’t cheap vanilla. While we were supposed to have the Hazelnut flavour, somehow it switched to Dark Chocolate – I’m not complaining though.

This waffle may be something worth trying if you are adventurous and a fan of sugary things and old school treats like chocolate wafers and biscuits!

img_9252img_9216

The cafe also offers pretty macarons and *gasps* Pokeball cake!

BUNNY’S VERDICT:

I really returned for a second visit!

BUNNY RECOMMENDS: Shiberty Toast, Churro-Waffle


RATING

Overall Taste:  3.5/5  A few hits and misses for the Matcha Shiberty Toast and Churro Waffles, which causes this dessert cafe to be labelled as “mediocre” under my cafe rankings.
The price tag of $16 is also quite high, considering that Dessert Project costed me $14.90 for better quality handcrafted ice creams. I reckon the ice creams here are not freshly made by the cafe. This was one big factor that may have compromised their taste.

Ambience: 4/5 The best ambience out of all the dessert cafes located in the heartlands that I’ve been to. Much effort has been put into the decor, like vases of flowers, and corners framed with calligraphy quotes. They are THE perfect back drop for your Instagram photos.

I had a problem with their toilet though because my experience was ruined by how there wasn’t any toilet paper and handwash left (a bit of an OCD freak here) and the toilet door was really tough to close.

Service: 3/5 Staff were generally all smiles, but they didn’t seem that genuine or eager to serve. Maybe because there is no service charge?


Shiberty Bakes
46 Owen Road, #01-277, Singapore 210046 (Farrer Park MRT)
Opening Hours:
12pm – 9.30pm (Tues – Sun)
Closed on Mondays.
Facebook

Directions: 

  • Cafe is near Pek Kio Market, if you’re familiar with it. Nearest MRT is Farrer Park station and it’d will be a 10-minute walk from there.
  • Buses: 131, 141

Hopping out…
ANDREA THE #FOREVERHUNGRY BUNNY

Don’t be a stranger!
Stay connected with my munching journey on Instagram ❤

 

 

Leave a comment