Riders Cafe Review @ 51 Fairways Drive: Perfect Getaway Brunch Spot For Horse Lovers

Anyone who like secretly wanted to own a horse or see a stable, your dream is answered.

I used to be obsessed of ponies and even learnt how to groomed them – but given Singapore’s land space, it’s impossible. Good news, though for horse-lovers… There is a cafe where you can actually get up close to horses if you’re lucky enough!

img_1908

 

 

img_1711

img_1910

As what the signboard suggests, the cafe is located at Bukit Timah Saddle Club and the ambience reminded me of a colonial house with white-washed walls and wooden frames.

img_1909img_1911

My family and I were greeted immediately upon reaching the bustling cafe on a Saturday afternoon. The cafe seemed full house as most tables at the side were taken. They had a view.

We were brought to a table in the centre instead.

img_1601

img_1602img_1599

Full menu can be found here.

Our food arrived pretty fast and almost all were served at the same time.

img_1922

We unanimously agreed on having the famous Pacific Benedict with poached eggs, crab cakes, smoke salmon flakes & hollandaise [$18++]!

This is featured in numerous listicles of  Eggs Benedict To Try In Singapore.

img_1921img_1914img_1921

Taste: 3.5/5

While the Crab cakes were an interesting touch, they were a tad too moist. The salmon flakes lent a dominant hint of saltiness to the dish.

I was a tad displease with the overcooked spinach because the nutrition level plunges. At least the poached eggs were flowy!

img_1926

img_1927
Pacific Eggs Benedict

One other famous dish is their Brioche French Toast with burnt bananas, bacon, honeycomb butter [$16++]

Taste: 4/5

A look at Instagram, and this is wildly popular on other people’s feed. Must be good right?

img_1916img_1917

Well, YES. Although French toast with bananas are very commonly done these days in cafes, finding one that hits all the right spots is hard.

Riders Cafe almost nailed it.

It may look like quite a small portion, but nope. The dish was so satisfying; it consists of sweet, creamy caramelised banana and fluffy BRIOCHE (a must-have bread for all french toasts) that had the eggy aroma. It smelt heavenly.

I was also glad the maple syrup given was also enough to cover the bread!

On a side note, I think vanilla ice cream would work well in this dish for some temperature contrast! French toast and ice cream are usually a match made in heaven, and Riders Cafe should consider topping up a scoop on it.

I’ve had many French toasts experiences, and I think this is way better than Clinton Street Baking Company. I like how whole bananas were given. They were caramelised with a crispy residue of  glaze that you could crunch into.

img_1915img_1924

 

img_1918

On top of that, we had House Truffle fries [$10++].

Taste: 2/5

My mum was craving for them, but man, this fell flat taste-wise. It was quite soggy and truffle oil given was very mild. Texture of the fries are worse than McDonald’s!

Good thing was the variety of sauces given for FREE: mayonnaise, thousand island and ketchup! The Truffle Fries at Paddy Hills had a small saucer for a big bowl of fries and expected us to top up money for more. Geez.

I would not recommend this at all.

With many dishes on the heavier side,  something refreshing was chosen to further cleanse our palate – Watermelon & Crab Salad with avocado, edamame & feta [$18++].

img_1919

Taste: 3/5

It is not something I would actually order again.

There seems to be a lack of sauce to tie all the elements of the dish together.  A basic balsamic vinaigrette dressing should do the trick.

Avocado was also somewhat underripe. This would never happen in Australia.

Huge chunks of fresh crab were given, but I actually confused it with the feta cheese! The latter overpowered the sweetness of the crab. At least the crab is not crabsticks – which may be the reason why the portion is kinda small for its price.

 

img_1920

Finally, we had a separate stomach grown just for desserts.

We just couldn’t resist while browsing the menu. These are NOT kaya toast sticks, but…

img_1934

Pound Cake Cinnamon Churros with Vanilla Cream & Chocolate Ganache [$10++]!

How glorious do these look?! And I betcha that it tasted better than it looks. Hohoho…

img_1937img_1936

Taste: 5/5

I’ve had many disappointing Churros in Singapore that I don’t actually want to try anymore, but this was B O M B dotcom! The only churro I’ve had that has enough cinnamon!!!

It was love at first bite… as cheesy as it sounds.

I like the idea of replacing the usual stick churros with pound cake, which was fluffy and moist. It could even be a healthier alternative to the usual deep fried churros!

There were also plenty of dips to go by, and we couldn’t stop ourselves from reaching out towards them even though we were already falling into a deep food coma.

That’s how good they were. I reckon I could have these all these by myself!

img_1932

For our drinks, we had their Mixed Berries Smoothie [$6++] and Mocha Float [$6.50++] with Vanilla Ice Cream.

img_1931

They were pleasant with rich, creamy berry and chocolatey goodness.

img_1928img_1929


Midway eating, I started wondering: Where are the horses?

I didn’t see any up to this point, and decided to get up to “look” for them. Coincidentally, while I looked out of the window, there was one beautiful white horse that was heading towards the pen!

My sister and niece were already there. I was so ecstatic that I sprinted ahead of them to take a closer glimpse of the horse!

As I haven’t gotten up-close to one in a long time, I took a couple of selfies and even patted when it came closer to the edge. However, do take note that the pen is surrounded by electric wires and the caretaker has locked it inside.

I spent about 15-20 minutes just observing it from the fence and left when it started snotting at me haha.

img_1669img_1700

Swoosh! Look at that smooth silky tail.

img_1681

With a great ambience and brunch dishes you may  familiar with, this may be a perfect spot for your weekend afternoon!

I mean, how often can you dine with horsies close-by?

BUNNY’S VERDICT:

YES! Perfect hangout for couples, girlfriends, taitais and families.

BUNNY RECOMMENDS: French Toast, Pacific Benedict, Pound Cake Cinnamon Churros


RATING

Overall Taste: 3.75/5 Had a wonderful time with my family! Riders Cafe seems to be a forgotten gem with many openings of other cafes. While it’s my first time here, the food that didn’t fall short on its taste and execution! Some dishes can be fine tuned though. I can see myself coming back here for a solid brunch fare.

Ambience: 4/5 My first alfresco dining in awhile! Relaxing with charming European rustic vibes. There were occasional flies and smell of horse stables, but they were no biggie. How often can you dine amidst the lush greenery, fresh air and upclose to horses?

Service: 4/5 Friendly and quite attentive. Eager to serve us with a smile!


Riders Cafe
51 Fairways Drive
Singapore 286965
Phone: +65 6466 9819 (reservations)
Bukit Timah Saddle Club
riderscafe.sg (menu)

Opening Hours:
Sunday – Thursday 8am – 9pm
Friday & Saturday 8am – 10pm
Closed on Monday

 Directions: 

  • Free carpark available at the Saddle club

Hopping out…
ANDREA THE #FOREVERHUNGRY BUNNY

DON’T BE A STRANGER!  FOLLOW MY MUNCHING JOURNEY ON INSTAGRAM ❤

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Riders Cafe Review @ 51 Fairways Drive: Perfect Getaway Brunch Spot For Horse Lovers

Leave a comment